Refine Your Results

Content Curators

Grades

Subjects

Resource Types

Standards

Now... gain access to over 2 Million curated educational videos and 500,000 educator reviews to free & open educational resources

Get a 10 Day Free Trial

67 resources with the concept british literature

Videos (Over 2 Million Educational Videos Available)
Algebra 50 - Three Variable Systems in the Real World - Problem 2 Video
10:23
Algebra 50 - Three Variable Systems in the...
Defining Gravity Video
3:11
Defining Gravity
Thomas Jefferson - Author of The Declaration of Indepence & 3rd U.S. President | Mini Bio | BIO Video
4:18
Thomas Jefferson - Author of The...
Other Resource Types (67)
EngageNY

EngageNY Grade 10 ELA Module 4: How Do Authors Use Craft and Structure to Develop Characters and Ideas?

For Teachers 10th Standards
Nonfiction and dramatic text take center stage in a three-unit module that focuses on how authors convey and develop central ideas. In Unit 1, E. B. White’s “Death of a Pig” provides sophomores with an opportunity to analyze the...
14 Items in Collection
Lesson Planet

Shakespeare Videos

For Students 9th - 12th Standards
Actors share insights into some of Shakespeare’s most famous characters, plays, and about Shakespeare himself. Each video in the Shakespeare English Exercises collection has interactive exercise as well as a transcript. Activities for...
8 Items in Collection
Lesson Planet

Macbeth: A Collection Full of Sound and Fury

For Teachers 9th - 12th Standards
Something wonderful this way comes with a collection of worksheets, lessons, activities, videos, apps, and PowerPoints for Macbeth. Double your resources and save yourself the trouble of curating materials for the Scottish play.
Lesson Planet

A Christmas Carol - The Story

For Students 5th - 8th Standards
Thirty-six pages familiarize scholars with the story and vocabulary of A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. After reading and listening to an abbreviated version of the holiday tale learners show what they know about the sequence of...
Lesson Planet

A Christmas Carol Study Guide

For Teachers 7th - 12th Standards
Bah! No need to make amends for an opportunity missed if you take advantage of a resource packet designed to accompany a viewing of the musical version of A Christmas Carol. Stuffed with goodies, with activities, exercises, worksheets,...
Lesson Planet

Critical Thinking in A Christmas Carol

For Teachers 6th - 8th Standards
Charles Dickens' A Christmas Carol provides middle schoolers an opportunity to examine how references to historical context can contribute to the impact of and the theme of a story. Groups conduct a close reading of an excerpt from the...
Lesson Planet

Beowulf Unit

For Teachers 9th - 12th
The activities in this unit plan make studying Beowulf fun. After reading and discussing Beowulf's boasts, class members draft resumes and cover letters. Learners examine Joseph Campbell's 12 step discussion and decide whether Beowulf is...
Lesson Planet

British Literature Honors: Beowulf

For Teachers 12th Standards
Whether new to teaching Beowulf or an experience pro, you'll find much to like in a richly detailed unit plan that asks readers to consider how the epic represents the difficulty in defining good and evil but also reflects the changing...
5:55
Lesson Planet

Pride and Prejudice

For Teachers 6th - 12th Standards
Published in 1813 and considered by many to be the first romance novel, Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice still tops the chart as a favorite read. Literary experts share why the tale of Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy continues to win the...
1:58
Lesson Planet

Why Pride and Prejudice Is Relevant Today

For Teachers 9th - 12th Standards
Believe it or not, there is a group of Jane Austen fans who call themselves Janeites and gather each year to celebrate all things Austen, dancing, and dressing in period-authentic clothing. In this video, one devoted fan shares her...
2:34
Lesson Planet

Jane Eyre 2: Meeting Mr. Rochester

For Teachers 9th - 12th Standards
Adapting a much-beloved novel for the screen can be a tricky business. Each media has its own possibilities and limitations. The second PBS Jane Eyre resource in the Masterpiece series asks readers to evaluate how the filmmakers have...
2:13
Lesson Planet

Jane Eyre 1: First Impressions

For Teachers 9th - 12th Standards
As part of a study of Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre, class members compare the portion of Chapter IV, where Jane is criticized by Mrs. Reed and interrogated by Mr. Brocklehurst, with the film interpretation of the same scene.
5:00
Lesson Planet

The Wicked Wit of Jane Austen

For Students 9th - Higher Ed Standards
More than 15 of Jane Austen's novels have been adapted into films. While viewers enjoy the lush sets, period costumes, and the depictions of eighteenth-century British gentry, what is often lost in these adaptations is Austen's satire. A...
Lesson Planet

Jane Eyre

For Students 9th - 12th Standards
Some say there is no place like home. Jane, a character in Jane Eyre, is thankful no other place is like the terrible home of her aunt. Jane is thankful that her mean aunt is convinced to send Jane off to school. Readers learn of the ups...
5:43
Lesson Planet

Is There Any Truth to the King Arthur Legends?

For Students 9th - 12th
Was he or wasn’t he? We may never know for sure about the origins of King Arthur. But a video that leads middle school and high school viewers through the facts and fictions that have kept King Arthur alive in peoples’ imaginations for...
7:32
Lesson Planet

J.R.R. Tolkien - The Father of Lord of The Rings

For Students 9th - Higher Ed Standards
Best known as the author of the  Lord of the Rings trilogy, J.R.R. Tolkien may have used some of his trench warfare experiences to create Middle Earth. While the trilogy is not entirely autobiographical, many scholars agree that...
Lesson Planet

The Trial of Ebenezer Scrooge: Study Guide

For Teachers 9th - 12th Standards
In every version of A Christmas Carol, Scrooge ends up a better man, but does that mean he shouldn't have to pay for his mistakes? A study guide covering The Trial of Ebeneezer Scrooge puts the classic grumpy character in front of a...
Lesson Planet

Sense and Sensibility: Study Guide

For Teachers 9th - 12th Standards
Jane Austen wrote the book on matchmaking and romance in eighteenth and nineteenth century England. A study guide for theatrical adaptation of Sense and Sensibility discusses the historical and social context of the classic novel....
Lesson Planet

Pride and Prejudice: Study Guide

For Teachers 9th - 12th Standards
Fans of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice could probably watch a different adaptation of the classic tale every day for a year and still not view them all. A study guide outlines information about the novel, the history surrounding it,...
1 In 1 Collection 2:57
Lesson Planet

Stratford 2: The Lost Years

For Students 9th - 12th Standards
Before Shakespeare moved to London, he found inspiration in Stratford. Part of a thorough series on Shakespeare, an intriguing video describes the Bard's early years in Stratford when he was newly married and had three young children....
Lesson Planet

Love's Labour's Lost: Study Guide

For Teachers 8th - 12th Standards
Shakespeare's Love's Labour's Lost does not get as much attention as some of his other comedies, but it still has a lot to offer. A study guide based on the play introduces theater goers to aspects of the the art, and then provides a...
1 In 1 Collection 5:34
Lesson Planet

The Tempest 1: Bigger Than Me

For Students 9th - 12th Standards
William Shakespeare's work speaks to everyone, regardless of race, gender, or social class. A short video discusses key aspects of the Bard and his craft, including his use of iambic pentameter. Activities accompany the video to help...
1 In 1 Collection 5:02
Lesson Planet

Stratford 1: Shakespeare, Glove Maker

For Students 9th - 12th Standards
Shakespeare did not go to university, and that may have been the best decision he ever made. A video, part of the Shakespeare English exercises series, describes the famous playwright's early years in Stratford-Upon-Avon, sharing details...
Lesson Planet

Victorian Historians

For Teachers Pre-K - 12th Standards
Take the class back in time to the Victorian Era! The resource provides a plethora of activities that create experiences for scholars in class. Some activities include a fun fair, viewing the starry-night painting, and even experiencing...