Refine Your Results

Content Curators

Grades

Subjects

Resource Types

Standards

96 reviewed resources for j.r.r. tolkien

7:31
Lesson Planet

J.R.R. Tolkien - The Father of Lord of The Rings

For Students 9th - Higher Ed Standards
Best known as the author of the  Lord of the Rings trilogy, J.R.R. Tolkien may have used some of his trench warfare experiences to create Middle Earth. While the trilogy is not entirely autobiographical, many scholars agree that...
Lesson Planet

Tolkien's Sources: Where Did All of This Come From?

For Teachers 7th - 12th
Fans of Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit will enjoy this presentation that traces the sources of the names in J.R.R. Tolkien’s works. Did you know, for example, that “Orcs” comes from the Old English word for demon?
Lesson Planet

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

For Students 8th - Higher Ed
For this literature worksheet, students respond to 8 short answer and essay questions about Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings. Students may also link to an online interactive quiz on the novel at the bottom of the page.
Lesson Planet

Literature Study Guide - The Hobbit

For Students 7th - 9th
With several online resources for J.R.R. Tolkien's The Hobbit, as well as many reading and literary analysis activities, this novel study guide is a great way to keep your young readers organized during a book report. The guide includes...
Lesson Planet

Literature Study Guide - The Fellowship of the Ring

For Students 7th - 9th
Explore the fantastical world of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings trilogy with this project about the first book, The Fellowship of the Ring. The activities in the lesson lend well to class assignments or an individual report,...
Lesson Planet

Literature Study Guide - The Two Towers

For Students 7th - 9th
Enter the fantastical world of J.R.R. Tolkien with this book report guide. Focusing on The Two Towers (though only the online reading resources are novel-specific), the guide includes resources for online reading, a reading schedule, and...
Lesson Planet

The Fellowship of the Ring

For Students 6th - 12th Standards
Here's a must-have resource for educators who use J.R.R. Tolkien's The Hobbit and/or The Lord of the Rings. Packed with materials for both tales, the packet includes both a reader's guide and an educator's guide, lesson plans, vocabulary...
Lesson Planet

Setting in The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

For Teachers 10th - 12th
Students explore The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien. In this literature lesson, students read the book, paying close attention to the different habitats described. Students draw a picture of each of the habitats and include a written description.
Lesson Planet

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

For Teachers 10th - Higher Ed
Pupils read J.R.R Tolkien's The Hobbit and complete a character analysis. In this novel analysis lesson, students read the novel and compare a secondary character to Bilbo Baggins' character.
Lesson Planet

Riddles from The Hobbit

For Teachers 5th Standards
“Riddle me this!” What do J.R.R. Tolkien and Bill Finger have in common? Why, they’re both riddlers, of course. The riddles found in The Hobbit are the focus a series of activities that direct learners’ attention to word relationships...
Lesson Planet

The Hobbit

For Teachers 7th - 12th
Here’s a series of exercises designed to be used after readers have finished reading The Hobbit. Pairs identify the speaker of a series of quotes, match characters with qualities, and provide evidence from the story to support their...
Lesson Planet

Comparing Two Fantasies by J.R.R. Tolkien

For Teachers 10th - 12th
Students explore fantasy through The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien.  For this literature lesson, students investigate character analysis through book comparisons.  Students read The Hobbit and one other book by J.R.R. Tolkien and write a...
Lesson Planet

Writing Exercise for The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

For Teachers 10th - 12th
Students explore topic sentences and supporting sentences. In this writing lesson plan, students locate topic sentences and supporting sentences found in The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. Students write an essay based on a particular section...
Lesson Planet

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R Tolkien

For Teachers 10th - 12th
Students explore The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien. In this plot summary lesson, students read the book and take notes about the plot.  Students write a plot summary of The Fellowship of the Ring.
Lesson Planet

Narrative Writing - The Hobbit

For Teachers 10th - Higher Ed
Hobbits, dwarfs, wizards, trolls, and goblins. Readers track these fantastic creatures through J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit noting passages of character description and habitats. Using specific passages from the novel, class members craft...
Lesson Planet

Descriptive Writing - The Hobbit

For Teachers 11th - Higher Ed
Hobbits, dwarfs, wizards, trolls, and goblins. Readers track these fantastic creatures through J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit noting passages of character description and  scenery changes. Using specific passages from the novel, class...
Lesson Planet

A Reader's Guide: The Lord of the Rings

For Students 6th - 12th Standards
Delve into the delightful depths of J.R.R Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings with a thought-provoking reader's guide. With literary questions for the novel as well as the subsequent The Two Towers and The Return of the King, the guide is a...
Lesson Planet

The Hobbit

For Teachers 6th - 12th Standards
From dragons to dwarves, from riddles to rings, the great adventure story of The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien has captivated generations of readers of all ages. An educator's guide explores the novel's literary elements, including the...
4:01
Lesson Planet

George R.R. Martin Discusses Lord of the Rings

For Students 6th - 12th Standards
George R.R. Martin, famous in his own right for heroes, villains, dragons, and direwolves, offers his rationale for why viewers should vote for J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings with its elves, wizards, and hobbits as part of the Great...
Lesson Planet

The Hobbit: Novel Study

For Teachers 6th - 8th Standards
All it takes is a little adventure to interrupt a quiet, simple life. A study guide for The Hobbit explores the adventures that disrupt Bilbo Baggins' quiet life. Questions discuss key events found within J.R.R. Tolkien's novel and...
Lesson Planet

Literature Study Guide - Return of the King

For Students 7th - 9th
With several activities such as a reading schedule, literature question page, and supplementary list of literary projects, this novel activity would be an excellent addition to your junior high or high school class. Use the activities...
Lesson Planet

The Fellowship of the Ring Study Questions & Essay Topics

For Students 8th - 12th
For this online interactive literature worksheet, students respond to 8 short answer and essay questions about J.R.R. Tolkien's The Fellowship of the Ring. Students may check some of their answers online.
Lesson Planet

Plan Your Unexpected Journey

For Teachers 6th - 8th
Leave your hobbit hole and start an adventure with J. R. R. Tolkien's timeless tale of dwarves, dragons, and hobbits.
Lesson Planet

Comparing Themes

For Teachers 9th - 12th
Compare and contrast the themes of two works by J.R.R. Tolkien. High schoolers read The Hobbit and The Fellowship of the Ring, Then they write an essay that compares the themes found in each novel.

Other popular searches