Refine Your Results

Content Curators

Grades

Subjects

Resource Types

Standards

130 reviewed resources for the lord of the rings

4:01
Lesson Planet

George R.R. Martin Discusses Lord of the Rings

For Students 6th - 12th Standards
George R.R. Martin, famous in his own right for heroes, villains, dragons, and direwolves, offers his rationale for why viewers should vote for J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings with its elves, wizards, and hobbits as part of the Great...
Lesson Planet

Lord of the Rings: The Quest is Achieved

For Teachers 7th - 9th
Students analyze what makes a hero in The Lord of the Rings, Book Six. They discuss the characters and the aspects of their behaviors that make them heroes and write essays regarding the climax and heroic gestures of a character. After...
Lesson Planet

A Reader's Guide: The Lord of the Rings

For Students 6th - 12th Standards
Delve into the delightful depths of J.R.R Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings with a thought-provoking reader's guide. With literary questions for the novel as well as the subsequent The Two Towers and The Return of the King, the guide is a...
3 In 3 Collections
Lesson Planet

Six Degrees of Lord of the Rings

For Teachers 10th - 12th
Here's a fascinating take on a three-year honors, AP language, and AP literature course. Designed for teachers, the presentation suggests how to connect Tolkien's classic to the AP English canon. Very thought-provoking and definitely...
Lesson Planet

Literature Study Guide - The Fellowship of the Ring

For Students 7th - 9th
Explore the fantastical world of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings trilogy with this project about the first book, The Fellowship of the Ring. The activities in the lesson lend well to class assignments or an individual report,...
Lesson Planet

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

For Students 8th - Higher Ed
For this literature worksheet, students respond to 8 short answer and essay questions about Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings. Students may also link to an online interactive quiz on the novel at the bottom of the page.
2 In 2 Collections
Lesson Planet

Old Hobbits Are Hard to Break

For Teachers 6th - 12th Standards
Explore film adaptation of literature with this lesson, which focuses on the world of film advertisements. Middle schoolers discuss various films (including The Lord of the Rings) and create advertisements for a pretend film based on a...
Lesson Planet

Lord of the Rings Word Search

For Students 6th - 9th
In this Lord of the Rings word search, students locate vocabulary words from this book. They identify approximately 70 words from a given list. An answer sheet is provided.
Lesson Planet

The Fellowship of the Ring

For Students 6th - 12th Standards
Here's a must-have resource for educators who use J.R.R. Tolkien's The Hobbit and/or The Lord of the Rings. Packed with materials for both tales, the packet includes both a reader's guide and an educator's guide, lesson plans, vocabulary...
7:31
Lesson Planet

J.R.R. Tolkien - The Father of Lord of The Rings

For Students 9th - Higher Ed Standards
Best known as the author of the  Lord of the Rings trilogy, J.R.R. Tolkien may have used some of his trench warfare experiences to create Middle Earth. While the trilogy is not entirely autobiographical, many scholars agree that...
Lesson Planet

Tolkien's Sources: Where Did All of This Come From?

For Teachers 7th - 12th
Fans of Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit will enjoy this presentation that traces the sources of the names in J.R.R. Tolkien’s works. Did you know, for example, that “Orcs” comes from the Old English word for demon?
Lesson Planet

Discovering Saturn, The Real "Lord of the Rings"

For Teachers 3rd - 4th
Reading, writing, and rings! A lesson from NASA combines space science with authentic reading and writing tasks. Included in this lesson are pre-reading activities, four mini informational booklets on Saturn, a structured note-taking...
2:51
Lesson Planet

How Far Can Legolas See?

For Students 9th - 12th Standards
Legolas counts the number of riders on steeds at a distance of five leagues away, including knowing their colors and height, in J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings. A video researches this possibility by starting with the assumption that...
Lesson Planet

The Fellowship of the Ring Study Questions & Essay Topics

For Students 8th - 12th
For this online interactive literature worksheet, students respond to 8 short answer and essay questions about J.R.R. Tolkien's The Fellowship of the Ring. Students may check some of their answers online.
Lesson Planet

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

For Students 8th - Higher Ed
In this online interactive reading comprehension worksheet, students respond to 15 multiple choice questions about Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings. Students may submit their answers to be scored.
Lesson Planet

Literature Study Guide - The Two Towers

For Students 7th - 9th
Enter the fantastical world of J.R.R. Tolkien with this book report guide. Focusing on The Two Towers (though only the online reading resources are novel-specific), the guide includes resources for online reading, a reading schedule, and...
Lesson Planet

Literature Study Guide - Return of the King

For Students 7th - 9th
With several activities such as a reading schedule, literature question page, and supplementary list of literary projects, this novel activity would be an excellent addition to your junior high or high school class. Use the activities...
Lesson Planet

The Fellowship of the Ring

For Students 6th - 8th
In this modern literature worksheet, students answer questions about characterization, setting, and plot of The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien.
Lesson Planet

Comparing The Hobbit and The Fellowship of the Ring

For Teachers 11th - Higher Ed
Students read The Hobbit and The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien and write a comparison of the two books. In this Tolkien novel analysis lesson, students read the novels and select characters, plot, theme, or other element to...
Lesson Planet

Lord of the Rings: Borrowed Mythology

For Teachers 7th - 12th
Young scholars complete a research project. In this mythology lesson, students identify the similarities between world mythology and The Lord of The Rings trilogy. Young scholars complete character plot diagrams for each episode of the...
Lesson Planet

The Hobbit: The Enchanting Prelude to Lord of the Rings

For Teachers 6th - 9th Standards
The Odyssey, Star Wars, The Hunger Games. Odysseus, Luke Skywalker, Katniss Everdeen. Add The Hobbit and Bilbo Baggins to these lists, and you have a unit examining classic and contemporary myths, legends, and folktales with hero and...
Lesson Planet

Comparing Themes

For Teachers 9th - 12th
Compare and contrast the themes of two works by J.R.R. Tolkien. High schoolers read The Hobbit and The Fellowship of the Ring, Then they write an essay that compares the themes found in each novel.
Lesson Planet

Lord Jim by Joseph Conrad

For Students 10th - Higher Ed
In this literature worksheet, students respond to 21 short answer and essay questions about Joseph Conrad's Lord Jim. Students may also link to an online interactive quiz on the novel at the bottom of the page.
Lesson Planet

Comparing The Hobbit and The Fellowship of the Ring

For Teachers 9th - 12th
Students write an essay comparing The Hobbit to The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien. For this The Hobbit and The Fellowship of the Ring lesson, students compare the plot, theme, writing styles, and other elements in the two books.